Study: ACO Metrics Fall in 6 Main Categories

Accountable care organization metrics, which have been developed by Medicare, commercial payors and the National Committee for Quality Assurance, can be divided into six main categories, according to a new MedeAnalytics research report.

The six categories are:
• Pediatric
• Ambulatory
• Prevention
• Acute care
• Outcomes
• Utilization of services

While popular ACO metrics can be put in these six categories, the main metric focus is different from payor to payor. For example, commercial ACOs are more focused on cost reduction and ambulatory processes while their Medicare counterparts focus on quality outcomes, according to the report.

This is the first time the metrics used by commercial and Medicare ACOs and NCQA ACO accreditation have been analyzed together, according to MedeAnalytics.

More Articles on ACOs:

Specialty ACOs: The Next Step in Accountable Care
Number of ACOs in the United States — A Quarterly Breakdown
ACO Data on the Cloud

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months