CMS star ratings are out: 4 things to know

  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large

CMS updated its Overall Hospital Quality Star Ratings on its Hospital Compare website April 28. The updated ratings are based on CMS' revised methodology

Four things to know: 

1. CMS' star rating system, launched in 2016, assigns stars based on 48 measures in the following five categories: mortality, safety of care, readmission, patient experience, and timely and effective care. This differs from CMS' previous method, which included 65 measures across seven groups.

2. Here is a breakdown of the updated star ratings: 

  • One-star: 204 hospitals
  • Two-stars: 690
  • Three-stars: 1,018
  • Four-stars: 988
  • Five stars: 455 

3. Overall, 50 percent of hospitals received the same rating, 45 percent moved up or down by one star, and 5 percent shifted up or down by two or more stars. 

4. CMS last updated its star ratings in January 2020. 

Copyright © 2021 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars