ACHE installs new chairman, governors and regents to board

Charles D. "Chuck" Stokes, executive vice president and COO of Houston-based Memorial Hermann, has been appointed chairman of the American College of Healthcare Executives. He was installed today at the Council of Regents Meeting preceding ACHE's 60th Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago.

Mr. Stokes succeeds outgoing ACHE Chairman Edward H. Lamb, president and CEO of Columbus, Ohio-based Mount Carmel Health System.

Board certified in healthcare management as an ACHE fellow, Mr. Stokes has served for 10 years as an ACHE faculty member at Congress and at other ACHE educational programs. He's been on the ACHE board of governors as governor since 2014.

In addition to Mr. Stokes' appointment, ACHE announced the election of four healthcare leaders to the board of governors, the authority that oversees ACHE operations and member services.

Anthony A. Armada, executive vice president and CEO, Western Washington at Renton, Wash.-based Providence St. Joseph Health; Nancy M. DiLiegro, PhD, vice president of clinical operations and physician services and chief clinical officer at Trinitas Regional Medical Center in Elizabeth, N.J.; Sara M. Johnson, director of executive education and a clinical assistant professor for the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University in Indianapolis; and Edmund L. Lafer, MD, medical director of Health Partners Plans in Philadelphia; will serve a three-year term on the board of governors. They are all board certified in healthcare management as ACHE fellows.

Finally, ACHE installed 28 new regents, each of which will serve three-year terms, and two regents-at-large. In addition, ACHE recently appointed two regents to represent members on an interim basis in Colorado and New Hampshire.

The elected regents will represent ACHE members in their respective jurisdictions, while interim regents will serve until the next election can be held. All of the regents are board certified in healthcare management as ACHE fellows. They are listed below by state.

Arizona—James T. Flinn, JD, FACHE, CEO, St. Luke's Medical Center and Tempe St. Luke's Hospital, Phoenix 

California-Southern — Ellen Zaman, associate vice president, government and industry relations, Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Canada — Danielle K. Swerhone, RN, implementation specialist, screening programs, Population, Public and Indigenous Health-Alberta Health Services  (Calgary, Alberta) 

Colorado — J. Craig Bailey, (Interim Regent), CEO and hospital administrator, Colorado Acute Long Term Hospital (Denver)

Florida - Northern and Western — Michael A. Mayo, president, Baptist Medical Center Jacksonville 

Illinois - Central & Southern — Daniel L. Perryman, president/CEO, HSHS St. Mary's Hospital (Decatur) 

Illinois - Metropolitan Chicago — Rupert M. Evans Sr., DHA, professor, chairman and program director, Governors State University (University Park)

Maryland — Alan S. Weisman, lecturer, health systems management, University of Baltimore

Michigan & Northwest Ohio — Derk F. Pronger, COO, Munson Medical Center (Traverse City) 

Minnesota — Mark A. Sonneborn, vice president of health information and analytics, Minnesota Hospital Association

Missouri — Katherine Nowak, vice president, care management informatics and business support, Mercy (Chesterfield)

Montana — Mark Donaldson, PharmD, senior executive director, Vizient Advisory Solutions (Whitefish)

Navy — CDR Robert T. McMahon III, U.S. Navy

Nebraska & Western Iowa — Nizar K. Wehbi, MD, assistant professor, College of Public Health, University of Nebraska Medical Center (Omaha)

Nevada — Teressa M. Conley, president/CEO, Rose De Lima Campus, Dignity Health (Henderson)

New Hampshire — Karen F. Clements, RN, (Interim Regent), CNO, Dartmouth Hitchcock (Lebanon) 

New Jersey – Northern — Michael J. McDonough, professor, Rutgers University (New Brunswick)

New York - Northern and Western — Frank B. Panzarella Jr., vice president of operations, Bassett Medical Group, Bassett Healthcare Network (Cooperstown) 

North Carolina — Alfred P. Taylor, principal, Cirra Inc. (Mount Gilead) 

North Dakota — Keith E. Heuser, president, CHI Mercy Health (Valley City) 

Ohio — Theodore Washienko, site administrator and director of business development, UC Health–West Chester Hospital 

Pennsylvania — Jean A. Tauber, adjunct faculty, Mercyhurst University (Erie)

Pennsylvania – Southeast & Southern New Jersey — Allison P. Wilson-Maher, FACHE, principal, Acuity Healthcare Real Estate Resources (Philadelphia)

South Carolina — Adam Allen, executive vice president/COO, PHT Services Ltd., (Columbia) 

Tennessee — Charlotte C. Burns, RN, vice president of network affiliates, HCA TriStar Health Division (Brentwood)

Texas – Southeast — Todd A. Caliva, CEO, Clear Lake Regional Medical Center, (Webster) 

Vermont — Steven R. Gordon, president/CEO, Brattleboro Memorial Hospital

Virginia – Central — John P. Harding, COO, Children's Health System (Norfolk) 

Washington — Andrea Z. Turner, associate administrator, ambulatory care, Harborview Medical Center (Seattle) 

Wyoming — Maureen K. Cadwell, CEO, Weston County Health Services (Newcastle)

Regent-at-Large District 1 — Joanne Carrocino, president/CEO, Cape Regional Medical Center (Cape May Court House)

Regent-at-Large District 6 — CDR Kathleen K. Cooperman, U.S. Navy

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars