NCQA Launches Patient-Centered Specialty Practice Recognition Program

The National Committee for Quality Assurance launched its patient-centered specialty practice recognition program today.

The program is designed to build on NCQA's patient-centered medical home program and help fix the disconnect between primary care physicians and specialists. The PCSP recognition program is designed for specialty providers who share information and coordinate patient care with a patient's other specialists and primary care providers.

No specific specialty or subspecialty is ineligible for the program, but some specialties may be better suited for the PCSP than others, such as oncology, endocrinology and cardiology, according to Patricia Barrett, NCQA's vice president of product development. "Specialties that have even greater interaction with patients…[and] tend to take on a management role on a more frequent basis would clearly be prime targets for the program," she said in a webinar last Thursday.

There are six recognition standards in the PCSP program, according to the NCQA's website:

1. Tracking and coordinating referrals
2. Providing access and communication to patients
3. Identifying and coordinating patient populations
4. Planning and managing patient care
5. Tracking and coordinating care
6. Measuring and improving performance over time

More Articles on Coordinated Care:

3 Years of PPACA: The 5 Biggest Changes in Healthcare Since the Law's Passage
3 ACO Readiness Strategies
A Strategic Approach to Preparing for Pay-for-Outcomes

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars