The 29 rural emergency hospitals, by state

Twenty-eight hospitals have converted to the rural emergency designation since the law that created the designation took effect in January 2023, according to data from CMS.

Here are the hospitals that have converted to rural emergency status, by state:

Arkansas (4)

Eureka Springs Hospital 

Helena Regional Medical Center 

South Mississippi County Regional Medical Center (Osceola)

St. Bernards Five Rivers Medical Center (Pocahontas)

Georgia (2)

Blue Ridge Medical Center

Irwin County Hospital (Ocilla)


Mercy Hospital (Moundridge) 

South Central Kansas Medical Center (Arkansas City)

Kentucky (1)

Crittenden Community Hospital (Marion)

Louisiana (1)

Assumption Community Hospital (Napoleonville) 

Michigan (1)

Sturgis Hospital

Minnesota (1)

Mahnomen Health Center

Mississippi (6)

Alliance Healthcare System (Holly Springs)

Green County Hospital (Leakesville) 

Jefferson County Hospital (Fayette) 

Panola Medical Center (Batesville) 

Perry County General Hospital (Richton)

Sharkey Issaquena Community Hospital (Rolling Fork) 

Nebraska (1)

Friend Community Healthcare System

New Mexico (1)

Guadalupe County Hospital (Santa Rosa)

Oklahoma (3)

Stillwater Medical - Blackwell

Stillwater Medical - Perry 

Harper County Community Hospital (Buffalo) 

Tennessee (1)

Tristar Ashland City Medical Center

Texas (5) 

Anson General Hospital

Crosbyton Clinic Hospital

Falls Community Hospital and Clinic (Marlin)

St. Luke's Health - Memorial Hospital - San Augustine

St. Mark's Medical Center (La Grange) 

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars