State-by-state breakdown of 36 critical access hospital closures

Nearly one in five Americans live in rural areas and depend on their local hospital for care. Since 2005, 171 of those hospitals have closed, according to the Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research.

The number of rural hospital closures has steadily increased over the past three years, with a record-breaking 18 rural hospitals shutting down in 2019, according to the Sheps Center. Of the 171 rural hospitals that have shut down over the past 15 years, 63 were designated critical access hospitals. CMS gives that designation to hospitals with 25 or fewer beds that are in rural areas and located either more than 35 miles from the nearest hospital or more than 15 miles from another hospital in areas with mountainous terrains or only secondary roads.

Twenty-seven of the critical access hospitals that shut down since 2005 still provide some healthcare services, such as urgent care, primary care or long-term care. Listed below are the 36 critical access hospitals that have completely closed since Jan. 1, 2005, as tracked by the Sheps Center. 

Randolph Medical Center (Roanoke) 

Fort Yuma PHS Indian Hospital 
Florence Community Healthcare 
Cochise Regional Hospital (Douglas) 

De Queen Medical Center

Campbellton-Graceville Hospital 

Taylor-Telfair Regional Hospital (Mcrae) 
Charlton Memorial Hospital (Folkston) 
Stewart-Webster Hospital (Richland) 
Lower Oconee Community Hospital (Glenwood) 

St. Joseph's Hospital of Huntingburg 

Cedar Vale Community Hospital
Horton Community Hospital  
Oswego Community Hospital 

Nicholas County Hospital (Carlisle) 

Minnewaska District Hospital (Starbuck) 
Albany Area Hospital 

Patient's Choice Medical Center of Humphreys County (Belzoni) 
Pioneer Community Hospital of Newton 
Quitman County Hospital (Marks) 

Southeast Health Center of Reynolds County (Ellington) 
I-70 Community Hospital (Sweet Springs) 

North Carolina
Yancey Community Medical Center (Burnsville) 
Frye Regional Medical Center Alexander Campus (Taylorsville) 
Vidant Pungo Hospital (Belhaven) 
Yadkin Valley Community Hospital (Yadkinville) 

Philipsburg Area Hospital 

South Carolina
Fairfield Memorial Hospital (Winnsboro) 

De Leon Hospital 
Good Shepherd Medical Center (Linden) 
Hunt Regional Community Hospital of Commerce
Little River Healthcare Rockdale Hospital 

Pioneer Community Hospital of Patrick County (Stuart) 

Deer Park Hospital 

West Virginia
Guyan Valley Hospital (Logan) 
Richwood Area Community Hospital 

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars