COVID-19 contact tracing tech: The states that committed to, passed over Apple, Google system

Since Google and Apple's interoperable COVID-19 contact tracing tech hit the market May 20, only three states have committed to using it while many more are still exploring their options, according to a June 10 Business Insider report.

Google and Apple's interoperable application programming interface is designed to measure contact tracing using Bluetooth technology in smart phones. As of June 10, Alabama, North Dakota and South Carolina are the only states that have committed to using Google and Apple's system; and Rhode Island, South Dakota, Virginia and Washington have begun developing their own contact tracing apps, according to the report.

Business Insider contacted officials in all 50 states and Washington, D.C., to ask whether they will use the tech giants' system. Here are the 19 states that have not yet decided:

  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Here are the 16 states that have no plans to build a smartphone-based system:

  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Vermont

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars