Leapfrog unveils fall 2019 safety grades: 5 things to know

The Leapfrog Group released its fall 2019 Hospital Safety Grades Nov. 7, assigning "A" through "F" letter grades to more than 2,600 acute care hospitals for patient safety performance.

Five things to know:

1. Leapfrog releases the safety grades every fall and spring. The ratings are based on more than two dozen quality measures compiled by the Leapfrog Group, CMS, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, the CDC, and the American Hospital Association. Areas of measurement include nurse communication, hand hygiene adherence and surgical site infection rates, among others.

2. Of the more than 2,600 hospitals graded, 33 percent earned an "A" grade, 25 percent earned a "B," 34 percent earned a "C," 8 percent earned a "D," and 1 percent earned an "F."

3. Wyoming, Alaska and North Dakota had no hospitals with "A" grades this fall.

4. The five states with the highest percentage of "A" hospitals were Maine, Utah, Virginia, Oregon and North Carolina.

5. Thirty-six hospitals nationwide have earned an "A" rating in every scoring update since the ranking system's inception in spring 2012.

To view the state rankings for Leapfrog's fall 2019 update, click here.

More articles on clinical leadership & infection control:
Joint Commission to roll out new maternal care standards in 2020
Washington hospital cited for 22 care deficiencies after state audit
1 in 5 older adults take leftover antibiotics, survey finds

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers