Blue Cross & Blue Shield Distinction to Look at Cost, PCMHs, ACOs

The Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association announced it has expanded Blue Distinction, its national quality designation for specialty care, to take into account cost and to recognize patient-centered medical homes and accountable care organizations.

Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care will now recognize hospitals for achieving cost-efficiency measures and more robust quality measures, according to the news release. BCBSA is recognizing more than 185 facilities as Blue Distinction Centers for their quality and more than 460 as Blue Distinction Centers+ for their quality and cost-efficiency in delivering specialty care, according to the news release.

In addition, The Blues are expanding its recognition program to PCMHs and ACOs with its Blue Distinction Total CareSM designation, which will include quality, efficiency and patient experience measures.

More Articles on Hospital Quality:

10 Recent Findings on Patient Engagement
7 Key Elements of Safe Transitions of Care

Healthcare Quality Success Highlighted by RWJF Online Library

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2017. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


IC Database-3

Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months