13 nurses recognized for exceptional leadership by ANA

The American Nurses Association announced its 2020 National Awards recipients, honoring 13 nurses who have contributed significantly to nursing and healthcare, according to a May 4 press release.

"As we navigate the challenges of this pandemic, now more than ever, we need to recognize the vast contributions of nurses," said ANA President Ernest Grant, PhD, RN.

This year's 13 recipients all embody excellence, leadership and innovation. 

Rose Constantino, PhD, RN, of Pennsylvania State Nurses Association; Jeri Milstead, PhD, RN, of Ohio Nurses Association; and Tim Porter-O'Grady, EdD, APRN, of Georgia Nurses Association, will be inducted into ANA's Hall of Fame.  

The following individuals received ANA's Honorary Award for outstanding service in categories ranging from diversity to patient advocacy to legislative successes:

  • Vicki Freedenberg, PhD, RN, of Maryland Nurses Association
  • Laurie Badzek, RN, of Pennsylvania State Nurses Association
  • Kimberly Bagley, DNP, RN, of North Carolina Nurses Association
  • William Rosa, APRN, of ANA-New York
  • Brigit Carter, PhD, RN
  • Ronald Lee Hickman Jr., PhD, RN, of Ohio Nurses Association
  • Jeanie Sauerland, BSN, RN, of Texas Nurses Association
  • Patricia La Brosse, RN, of Louisiana State Nurses Association
  • Cynthia Zolnierek, PhD, RN, of Texas Nurses Association
  • Michael Singer, CEO of Careismatic Brands

More articles on nursing:
20 discounts, freebies for National Nurses Week
OSHA investigates suburban Atlanta hospital after nurse's death
10 Florida hospitals with the best nurse-patient communication scores

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers