20 schools join AMA's Accelerating Change in Medical Education initiative

The American Medical Association announced Wednesday the 20 medical schools selected from 108 candidates to join its Accelerating Change in Medical Education Consortium.

The ACME initiative was created in 2013 in response to the gap between medical education and the actual needs in healthcare delivery today. The consortium was created among the 11 original participants to share best practices.

"Our goal throughout this initiative has been to spread the robust work being done by our consortium to accelerate systemic change throughout medical education," AMA CEO James Madara, MD, said in a statement. "By tripling the number of schools participating in this effort, we know that we will be able to more quickly disseminate the consortium schools' innovative curriculum models to even more schools — leading to the type of seismic shift that the medical education system needs so that future physicians can better care for their patients."

The original 11 participating schools covered 7,000 medical students, with the future potential to touch 12.2 million patients. With the addition of 20 schools, the program will reach 18,000 medical students with the future potential to shape care for 31 million patients, according to the AMA.

After a competitive selection process, the AMA selected the following 20 schools to join the consortium and receive $75,000 over three years to advance its work in transforming undergraduate medical education.

  • A.T. Still University-School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (Mesa)
  • Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine (Cleveland)
  • Eastern Virginia Medical School (Norfolk)
  • Emory University School of Medicine (Atlanta)
  • Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine (Miami)
  • Harvard Medical School (Boston)
  • Morehouse School of Medicine (Atlanta)
  • Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (Cleveland)
  • Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (New Brunswick, N.J.)
  • Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education/City College of New York (New York City)
  • Thomas Jefferson University Sidney Kimmel Medical College (Philadelphia)
  • University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
  • University of Connecticut School of Medicine (Farmington)
  • University of Nebraska Medical Center/College of Medicine (Omaha)
  • University of North Carolina School of Medicine (Chapel Hill)
  • University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences (Grand Forks)
  • University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School
  • University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine (South Texas)
  • University of Utah School of Medicine (Salt Lake City)
  • University of Washington School of Medicine (Seattle)


More articles on integration and physician issues:

U of Illinois, Carle Health System enter 10-year research affiliation
HCA acquires 14 urgent care centers in Las Vegas
Harvard Medical School adds arts education

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.