State-by-state breakdown of 37 critical access hospital closures

Nearly 1 in 5 Americans live in rural areas and depend on their local hospital for care. Since 2005, 181 of those hospitals have closed, according to the Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research.

Of the 181 rural hospitals that have shut down over the past 17 years, 64 were designated critical access hospitals. CMS gives that designation to hospitals with 25 or fewer beds that are in rural areas and located either more than 35 miles from the nearest hospital or more than 15 miles from another hospital in areas with mountainous terrains or only secondary roads.

Twenty-seven of the critical access hospitals that shut down since 2005 have been converted to other types of healthcare facilities that provide a variety of services, such as urgent care, primary care or long-term care. 

Listed below are the 37 critical access hospitals that have completely closed since Jan. 1, 2005, as tracked by the Sheps Center. 

Randolph Medical Center (Roanoke) 

Cochise Regional Hospital (Douglas) 
Florence Community Healthcare 
Fort Yuma PHS Indian Hospital 

De Queen Medical Center 

Campbellton-Graceville Hospital 

Southwest Georgia Regional Medical Center (Cuthbert) 
Lower Oconee Community Hospital 
Charlton Memorial Hospital (Folkston) 
Stewart-Webster Hospital (Richland) 
Taylor Telfair Regional Hospital (Mcrae) 

St. Joseph's Hospital of Huntingburg 

Horton Community Hospital 
Oswego Community Hospital 
Cedar Vale Community Hospital 

Nicholas County Hospital (Carlisle) 

Albany Area Hospital 
Minnewaska District Hospital (Starbuck) 

Pioneer Community Hospital of Newton 
Patient's Choice Medical Center of Humphreys County (Belzoni) 

I-70 Community Hospital (Sweet Springs) 
SoutheastHealth Center of Reynolds County (Ellington) 

North Carolina
Yadkin Valley Community Hospital (Yadkinville) 
Vidant Pungo Hospital (Belhaven) 
Frye Regional Medical Center Alexander Campus (Taylorsville) 
Yancey Community Medical Center (Burnsville) 

Philipsburg Area Hospital 

South Carolina
Fairfield Memorial Hospital (Winnsboro) 

Copper Basin Medical Center (Cooperhill) 

Little River Healthcare Rockdale Hospital 
Hunt Regional Community Hospital of Commerce 
Good Shepherd Medical Center (Linden) 
De Leon Hospital 

Pioneer Community Hospital of Patrick County (Stuart) 

Deer Park Hospital 

West Virginia
Richwood Area Community Hospital 
Guyan Valley Hospital (Logan)

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars