Where are the 23 Leapfrog straight-'A' hospitals?

The Leapfrog Group released its fall 2021 Hospital Safety Grades on Nov. 10, assigning "A" through "F" letter grades to 2,901 general acute-care hospitals in the U.S. for patient safety performance.

The list represents the largest set of hospitals ever graded. Since 2012, Leapfrog has assigned letter grades to hospitals based on their ability to protect patients from preventable errors, accidents, injuries and infections. Twenty-three hospitals have achieved 20 consecutive "A" grades, the highest possible mark, since the launch.  

In the spring, there were 27 hospitals that achieved 19 consecutive "A" grades.

Here are the 23 hospitals that have achieved 20 consecutive "A" grades:


Mayo Clinic Hospital (Phoenix)


French Hospital Medical Center (San Luis Obispo)

Kaiser Permanente Orange County-Anaheim Medical Center

Sierra Vista Regional Medical Center (San Luis Obispo)


Rose Medical Center (Denver)


AdventHealth Daytona Beach


Elmhurst Memorial Hospital

Northwestern Medicine Central DuPage Hospital (Winfield)

OSF St. Mary Medical Center (Galesburg)

University of Chicago Medical Center


Beverly Hospital

St. Anne's Hospital (Fall River)


Michigan Medicine (Ann Arbor)


Baptist Memorial Hospital-Golden Triangle (Columbus)

North Carolina

UNC Rex Hospital (Raleigh)


OhioHealth Dublin Methodist Hospital

OhioHealth Grady Memorial Hospital (Delaware)


St. David's Medical Center (Austin)


Inova Loudoun Hospital (Leesburg)

Sentara CarePlex Hospital (Hampton)

Sentara Leigh Hospital (Norfolk)

Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center


Virginia Mason Medical Center (Seattle)


To view a list of the hospitals that received "F's" from Leapfrog this fall, click here.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars