Patient Safety Movement Foundation announces 2016 Innovation Award winners

At the 5th Annual Patient Safety, Science and Technology Summit in Dana Point, Calif., the Patient Safety Movement Foundation recognized the winners of the organization's 2016 Innovation Award.

The summit gathers hundreds of medical professionals, hospital administrators, medical technology executives and patient safety advocates to discuss challenges to patient safety and strategies to achieve the PSMF's goal of zero preventable deaths in the healthcare setting by 2020.

Sign up for our FREE E-Weekly for more coverage like this sent to your inbox

Below are the winners.

• The $50,000 first place prize went to ReavillMED for its infusion inserted central lines procedure, which makes central lines simpler, safer and quicker to insert.

• Second place honors and $25,000 was awarded to eBroselow for the company's SafeDose Scan, which allows clinicians to accurately and safely determine life-saving medication doses for acutely ill and injured children.

• WISER Systems received third place honors and $10,000 for the company's Systematic Expert Risk Assessment of Suicide, which evaluates a patient's risk for suicide and suggests possible interventions providers can take to protect the patient from suicide.

More articles on quality: 
Patient safety efforts saved almost 70k lives in 2016 
Mothers who deliver preterm infants at higher risk for heart disease later in life 
New York nursing home partners with Medline for staff education

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars