IHI recognizes 162 health systems for age-friendly care

The Institute for Healthcare Improvement recognized 162 hospitals, health systems and healthcare practices for providing "age-friendly" care.

IHI partnered with The John A. Hartford Foundation, the American Hospital Association and the Catholic Health Association of the United States for the initiative.

Healthcare organizations were recognized based on their alignment to IHI's framework for age-friendly care, which entails the following four elements:

  • A focus on what matters to older adults and their health goals
  • Use of age-friendly medication, if needed
  • Efforts to prevent, treat or manage delirium, depression and dementia
  • Mobility to maintain function

Of the 162 recognized organizations, 85 were deemed Age-Friendly Health Systems for their exceptional adherence to these elements. The remaining organizations, which received IHI's Age-Friendly Health Systems Participant designation, are in the process of putting these elements into practice.

IHI aims to have 1,000 hospitals adopt its age-friendly care framework by the end of 2020.

To view IHI's full list of Age-Friendly Health Systems, click here.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars