27 hospitals recognized for care quality

Vizient honored 27 hospitals with its 2019 Bernard A. Birnbaum, MD, Quality Leadership Award.

The award is given each year to academic medical centers, complex care centers and community hospitals that show superior clinical performance as measured by Vizient's quality and accountability study, which has been conducted annually since 2005 and focuses on care quality and patient safety.

Vizient analyzed self-reported patient outcomes data from 349 member hospitals, along with data from HCAHPS and the CDC's National Healthcare Safety Network. The study assessed hospitals' performance in five areas: safety, mortality, clinical effectiveness, efficiency and patient centeredness.

The 10 academic medical center winners are:

  • Rush University Medical Center (Chicago)
  • NYU Langone Health (New York City)
  • Mayo Clinic (Rochester, Minn.)
  • University of Utah Health (Salt Lake City)
  • Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia)
  • UC San Diego Health
  • Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center (Houston)
  • Stanford (Calif.) Medicine
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
  • Oregon Health and Science University (Portland)
  • Houston Methodist Hospital

The seven community hospital winners are:

  • Cleveland Clinic Lutheran Hospital
  • Mayo Clinic Health System in Red Wing (Minn.)
  • American Fork (Utah) Hospital
  • Logan (Utah) Regional Hospital
  • OhioHealth Dublin Methodist Hospital
  • Cedar City (Utah) Hospital
  • Progress West Hospital (O'Fallon, Mo.)

To view the full list of winners, click here.

More articles on healthcare quality:
Sepsis patients should get blood culture before antibiotics, study suggests 
Flu season may be severe, health officials say
43 Minnesota hospitals recognized for high employee flu shot rates

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


IC Database-3

Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months