Meet the 2016 family physician of the year

The American Academy of Family Physicians awarded the 2016 Family Physician of the Year title to Maureen Murphy, MD, for her compassionate, comprehensive care.

Dr. Murphy, originally a Joplin, Miss., television reporter, discovered she wanted to be a family physician while working as a public relations specialist for the Society of Teachers in Family Medicine in the Kansas City area. She earned a medical degree in 1985 from the University of Kansas School of Medicine in Kansas City.

Dr. Murphy now works as part of Cabarrus Family Medicine in Concord, North Carolina. She "has established herself as a highly respected, clinically adept and dependable source of care for thousands of patients," according to the AAFP announcement, and, "her leadership contributions and passion for teaching have inspired many young people to learn about the role of organized medicine in medical education."

The AAFP also honored the following physicians:

  • Theodore Wymyslo, MD, CMO of the Ohio Association of Community Health Centers, earned the Public Health Award.
  • Michael Obiekwe, MD, president and founder of Arms of Care International, earned the Humanitarian Award.
  • Nathan Newman, MD, national urgent care medical director and vice president of medical operations at Concentra, received the Robert Graham Physician Executive Award.
  • Macaran Baird, MD, professor and head of the University of Minnesota Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, received the Thomas W. Johnson Award for his contributions to family medicine education.


More articles on integration and physician issues:

Meridian Medical joins DuPage Medical Group: 4 things to know
UAMS makes physician reviews public
Gallup study reveals need for a 'care for the healthcare worker' approach

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars