3 states sign Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

Wyoming, South Dakota and now Utah have signed the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact into law, allowing physicians to become licensed in other states more quickly.

Utah signed on last Friday, South Dakota approved it on March 12 and Wyoming was the first to approve the compact on February 27.

However, the compact will take effect only when seven states have signed, according to the Idaho Statesman. The compact has been introduced in the following fourteen states: Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas, Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois, Alabama, West Virginia, Maryland, Vermont and Rhode Island.

Approval of the compact would expedite the licensure of physicians across state borders. However, each state board of medicine would still manage approval of individual physicians, according to the Idaho Statesman.


More articles on integration and physician issues:

Medical facilities could improve New York healthcare experience
NPs seek independence in Pennsylvania
MEDNAX acquires 15-physician practice in North Carolina

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars