18 states with laws banning telemedicine abortions

Although many states are embracing telemedicine for its ability to expand medical care access, a large number of states in the U.S. are trying to restrict its use for abortions.

Currently, "webcam abortions," or the prescription of an abortion medication via telemedicine, is illegal in 18 states. Idaho's House of Representatives passed legislation banning telemedicine abortions on March 3, according to the KLEW-TV. Montana legislators are currently debating a similar bill in the state House of Representatives, according to Montana Public Radio.

Although 18 states have banned telemedicine abortions, three are currently prohibited from enforcing the law. Supreme courts in Iowa and Kansas have both issued temporary injunctions against the enforcement of such laws during court cases debating their legality. Oklahoma's version of the law includes a clause that restricts the sale and distribution of an abortion medication, and while that clause has been permanently suspended, the state can still prohibit the prescription of abortion medication through telemedicine. Wisconsin has banned telemedicine abortions but does not enforce the law, and there is a pending complaint against the state by the local chapter of Planned Parenthood, according to the National Right to Life, a Washington, D.C.-based pro-life organization.

Here are the 18 states where telemedicine abortions are currently banned.

1. Alabama

2. Arizona

3. Arkansas (Effective July 2015)

4. Indiana

5. Iowa (Enjoined)

6. Kansas (Enjoined)

7. Louisiana

8. Michigan

9. Mississippi

10. Missouri

11. Nebraska

12. North Carolina

13. North Dakota

14. Oklahoma

15. South Dakota

16. Tennessee

17. Texas

18. Wisconsin (No enforcement)

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars