GAO appoints 3 new members to HIT policy committee

The comptroller general and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office has named three new members to the HIT Policy Committee.

The committee makes recommendations to the ONC to develop and adopt a nationwide health information infrastructure.

The HIT Policy Committee was established as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, which also made the comptroller general responsible for appointing 13 of the committee's 20 members.

Comptroller General Gene L. Dorado made the following three appointments to the committee.

Kathleen Blake, MD, will serve as an expert in healthcare quality measurement and reporting. She currently is vice president for performance improvement at the American Medical Association, executive director for the Physician Consortium for Performance Improvement and an assistant professor of medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore.

Donna Cryer, JD, will serve as an advocate for patients and consumers. Ms. Cryer is founder and president of the Global Liver Institute in Washington, D.C. She also serves on the board of the Society for Participatory Medicine and the Personalized Medicine Coalition and is a member of the National Institutes of Health Learning Health System Stakeholder Advisory Group.

Brent Snyder, Esq., will serve as a representative of healthcare providers. Mr. Snyder is corporate CIO of Altamonte Springs, Fla.-based Adventist Health System. He is also a member of the CHIME and a fellow of the Healthcare Financial Management Association.

More articles on health IT:

'Digital Doctor' author Dr. Robert Wachter defends Epic's business model, product
Epic, IBM Watson, Mayo Clinic to embed cognitive computing in EHRs
Why Beth Israel Deaconess observes 'email-free Fridays'

Copyright © 2022 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars