HIMSS Analytics re-validates Mercy Health's Stage 7 designation

A Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society subsidiary recognized Cincinnati-based Mercy Health for its EMR initiatives.

HIMSS Analytics re-validated Mercy Health's Stage 7 designation on the eight-stage HIMSS Analytics EMR Adoption Model. The model measures the degree to which a hospital or health system uses its EMR functions. Five percent of U.S. hospitals have reached Stage 7, which represents the highest designation.

One of the health system's IT initiatives focused on opioid misuse. The health system implemented with a "Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to Treatment," or SBIRT, protocol into patient EMRs. Under the program, a patient is given a detailed substance abuse prescreen questionnaire at the start of their visit to determine the best-fit intervention.

"Mercy Health demonstrated exceptional use of data-driven insights to improve reimbursement and make progress against the opioid epidemic," said James E. Gaston, senior director of maturity models at HIMSS Analytics. "Mercy Health is using information and technology for the betterment of patient care."

More articles on EHRs & interoperability:
5 biggest interoperability stories in 2017
Union General Hospital to implement Cerner CommunityWorks
HHS' Indian Health Service seeks to modernize VistA 'cousin' EHR

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers