4 Novant facilities achieve HIMSS Analytics Stage 7 designations

Four Winston-Salem, N.C.-based Novant Health medical centers received Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society Analytics Stage 7 awards — the highest level on the Electronic Medical Records Adoption Model.

The EMRAM is a methodology developed by HIMSS Analytics to evaluate the progress and impact the EMR has on hospitals. There are eight stages ranging from zero to seven that measure hospitals' use of IT and just 6.4 percent of U.S. hospitals have achieved Stage 7.

To receive a Stage 7 designation, hospitals must demonstrate they are no longer keeping paper charts, and they use a combination of discrete data, document images and medical images within their EMR environment. Hospitals must also show their providers are able to leverage EMR data to inform clinical decisions at the point of care, and they must show proof of data continuity across all services.

The four Novant facilities that achieved Stage 7 are:

1. Bolivia, N.C.-based Novant Health Brunswick Medical Center

2. Novant Health Kernersville (N.C.) Medical Center

3. Novant Health Charlotte (N.C.) Orthopedic Hospital

4. Novant Health Thomasville (N.C.) Medical Center

More articles on EHRs:
Acting VA CIO sets May 28 deadline for Cerner contract
2.2k consultants working on Epic rollout at Mayo cause parking woes for employees
Northern Valley Indian Health to deploy eClinicalWorks EHR across 7 tribal health sites

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars