Where are the 9 Leapfrog 'F' hospitals?

The Leapfrog Group gave nine hospitals failing grades in its spring 2019 Hospital Safety Grades released May 15.

The organization assigns letter grades every fall and spring to more than 2,600 acute care hospitals for patient safety performance.

This figure marks a decrease from the 17 hospitals that received an "F" in Leapfrog's fall 2018 Safety Grades update. Of the nine hospitals assigned "F"s this spring, two also earned "F"s this past fall. These hospitals are denoted with asterisks below.

Here is a list of this spring's "F" hospitals broken down by state:


National Park Medical Center (Hot Springs)


Lompoc Valley Medical Center

Valley Presbyterian Hospital (Van Nuys)


Methodist Hospital of Henderson


Hurley Medical Center (Flint)

New Mexico

Rehoboth McKinley Christian Health Care Services (Gallup)*

New York

St. John's Episcopal Hospital (New York City)*

UPMC Chautauqua WCA (Jamestown)

Washington, D.C.

United Medical Center

Copyright © 2022 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars