4 achievements of the Global Health Security Agenda

Since its establishment in 2014, the CDC-supported Global Health Security Agenda has achieved multiple milestones in improving 17 nations' ability to address the spread of infectious disease, according to an article published in the CDC's Emerging Infectious Diseases.

The GHSA is a partnership of nations, international organizations and civil society dedicated to improving infectious disease prevention, detection and response around the globe. The CDC is supporting 17 nations' efforts with a five-year $582 million commitment, which began in fiscal year 2015.

Here are four accomplishments made among 17 GHSA phase 1 countries, which include Bangladesh, Liberia and Uganda, among others.

1. Thirteen nations successfully expanded disease surveillance for three or more syndromes, such as acute hemorrhagic fever, severe acute respiratory syndrome and acute watery diarrhea with dehydration.

2. Sixteen countries obtained new diagnostic equipment to detect priority pathogens such as influenza, polio and tuberculosis.

3. All 17 nations have fielded participants in GHSA-sponsored disease detective training programs since 2014.

4. Fourteen nations trained staff for emergency operations centers that respond to public health emergencies.  

More articles on infection control: 
CDC reports 1st pediatric flu death for 2017-2018 flu season 
Flu vaccine improves outcome rate for other infections: 6 study findings 
Top 10 infection control stories, Oct. 23-27

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers