Bristol-Myers unveils new leadership team post Celgene deal

Bristol-Myers Squibb has unveiled the team that will lead its research and development group after its $74 billion acquisition of Celgene is finalized.

"I’m looking forward to working with this leadership team as we combine the strengths of Bristol-Myers Squibb and Celgene to enhance the value of our marketed portfolio, deliver six significant new product launches and realize the full potential of our deep and broad pipeline,” said Giovanni Caforio, MD, chairman and CEO of Bristol-Myers Squibb.

The leadership team of the R&D group:

  • Nadim Ahmed, president of hematology
  • Charlie Bancroft, executive lead for integration
  • Paul Biondi, head, strategy and business development
  • Chris Boerner, PhD, executive vice president and chief commercialization officer
  • Adam Dubow, chief compliance officer
  • Joseph Eid, MD, head of global medical affairs
  • John Elicker, head of corporate affairs and investor relations
  • David Elkins, executive vice president & CFO
  • Samit Hirawat, MD, CMO of global drug development
  • Severine Lacourt, chief of staff
  • Sandra Leung, executive vice president and general counsel
  • Ann Powell, chief human resources officer
  • Lou Schmukler, president of global product development and supply
  • Rupert Vessey, president of research and early development
  • Paul von Autenried, CIO

One notable absence, according to STAT, is Chief Scientific Officer Tom Lynch, MD, who joined Bristol Myers in 2017 to help boost its pipeline of cancer immunotherapy drugs.  Mr. Lynch is stepping down Oct. 1 to pursue another opportunity in healthcare.

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars