5 health systems win pharmacy services awards

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists bestowed five health systems with "best practices" awards in early December. 

Here are the five winners, listed alphabetically:

1. Duke University Hospital, based in Durham, N.C., received the Success of an Expedited Pharmacy Technician Training Program to Augment the Workforce Needs of an Institution award. 

The team includes Tyler Vest, PharmD; Matthew Kelm, PharmD; Madison Hooker, PharmD; Shanreika Breeze; and Kuldip Patel, PharmD.

2. Kettering (Ohio) Health won the Advancing Pharmacy Practice Through Treatment Selection: A Pharmacist-Driven COVID-19 Outpatient Treatment Referral Process award for pioneering multiple treatments with emergency use authorization to treat COVID-19.

On average, "pharmacists were able to efficiently navigate the complex treatment decision pathway and complete referrals" in four hours and 39 minutes, according to the ASHP. The team included Julia Landis, PharmD; Elizabeth Jacob, PharmD; and Ashton VanDyke, PharmD. 

3. Mount Sinai Health System, based in New York City, received the Addressing Digital Health Equity to Improve Cardiovascular Health Outcomes using Pharmacist‐Led Remote Patient Monitoring award for its condition management program. 

The pharmacy team includes Cathleen Mathew, PharmD; Nicole Tang; Leanna Narain, PharmD; Jacquline Mullakary, PharmD; and Ruchi Tiwari, PharmD. 

4. UNC Health, based in Morrisville, N.C., won the Implementation of a Comprehensive Pharmacy Revenue Integrity Program to Ensure Financial Stewardship award for its denials management team's work. 

Lindsey Amerine, PharmD; Suzanne J. Francart, PharmD; Ruth‐Ann Lee, PharmD; and Kathryn Miller comprised the team. 

5. Wellstar Health System, based in Marietta, Ga., won the Development and Implementation of a System‐Wide Opioid Stewardship Program award for its 35.5 percent reduction in patient opioid-induced respiratory depression events. 

The team is Elizabeth Pennington, PharmD; Kimm Freeman, PharmD; Jasmine Jones, PharmD; and Danny Basri, PharmD.

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars