Mayo Clinic Health System to close 6 clinics

Mayo Clinic Health System is closing six clinics in Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin due to low patient volumes.

The one clinic in Iowa and four in Minnesota will close immediately, while the Wisconsin clinic will close Jan. 1, 2022. The clinics are in Armstrong, Iowa; Lake Crystal, Sherburn, Trimont, Truman, Minn.; and Elmwood, Wis. 

The facilities have remained closed or only partially opened since March 2020, when the pandemic forced them to temporarily suspend operations. The Wisconsin clinic resumed operations one day per week; the rest of the locations never reopened. 

Mayo Clinic Health System said the clinics experienced low patient volumes for an extended period of time before the pandemic, with most of the facilities open for limited services one to two days a week.  

The health system said the transition will be seamless for patients and staff, who will see providers and deliver care at Mayo Clinic Health System clinics in nearby communities.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars