18 states to sue Trump administration over discontinuation of health insurance subsidy payments

Attorney generals from 18 states will sue the Trump administration after President Donald Trump announced Thursday that he will end cost-sharing subsidies to payers, according to ABC News.

The subsidy payments help patients offset out-of-pocket medical costs, but President Trump deemed them unconstitutional bailouts for the insurance industry and announced he would be ending them immediately.

"Taking these legally required subsidies away from working families' health plans and forcing them to choose between paying rent or their medical bills is completely reckless," California Attorney General Xavier Becerra said in a statement. "This is sabotage, plain and simple. I and many of my attorney general colleagues will fight vigorously to ensure Californians and all Americans as taxpayers receive the healthcare the law provides."

The attorney generals filing the lawsuit represent California, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Oregon, North Carolina, Illinois, New York, Vermont, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, Minnesota, New Mexico, Washington, Iowa, and the District of Columbia.

More articles on legal and regulatory issues:

Police officer fired after arresting nurse who refused to draw blood from unconscious patient 
VA: West Virginia facility manipulated wait times, patient data 
Former nursing home CEO sentenced to prison for fraud

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars