Names of 32 Pioneer ACOs Released

Thirty-two healthcare organizations across the country will participate in the new Pioneer Accountable Care Organization program, which is expected to save up to $1.1 billion over five years, according to a news release from the Dept. of Health and Human Services.

The Pioneer ACO model is designed specifically for groups of providers with experience working together to coordinate care for patients. Participating organizations include Partners Healthcare in Boston, Steward Health Care System, also based in Boston and Ann Arbor-based University of Michigan Health System. Together, the participating systems represent 18 states. The names of all 32 participants, which were chosen after a "rigorous competitive selection process," are:

Allina Hospitals & Clinics (Minneapolis)
Atrius Health Services (Newton, Mass.)
Banner Health Network (Phoenix)
Bellin-Thedacare Healthcare Partners (Madison and Appleton, Wis.)
Beth Israel Deaconess Physician Organization (Boston)
Bronx (N.Y.) Accountable Healthcare Network
Brown & Toland Physicians (San Francisco)
Dartmouth-Hitchcock ACO (Hanover, N.H.)
Eastern Maine Healthcare System (Brewer, Maine)
Fairview Health Systems (Minneapolis)
Franciscan Health System (Indianapolis)
Genesys PHO (Grand Blanc, Mich.)
Healthcare Partners Medical Group (Torrance, Calif.)
Healthcare Partners of Nevada (Las Vegas)
Heritage California ACO (Marina Del Rey, Calif.)
JSA Medical Group (St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Michigan Pioneer ACO (Detroit)
Monarch Healthcare (Irvine, Calif.)
Mount Auburn Cambridge Independent Practice Association (Brighton, Mass.)
North Texas Specialty Physicians (Fort Worth)
OSF Healthcare System (Peoria, Ill.)
Park Nicollet Health Services (St. Louis Park, Minn.)
Partners Healthcare (Boston)
Physician Health Partners (Denver, Colo.)
Presbyterian Healthcare Services (Albuquerque, N.M.)
Primecare Medical Network (Ontario, Calif.)
Renaissance Medical Management Company (Wayne, Pa.)
Seton Health Alliance (Austin, Texas)
Sharp Healthcare System (San Diego)
Steward Health Care System (Boston)
TriHealth (Northwest Central Iowa)
University of Michigan (Ann Arbor)

Learn more about them here.

The first performance period of the Pioneer ACO Model will begin Jan. 1, 2012.

Related Articles on Pioneer ACOs:

Leaked Draft of Pioneer ACO Rules Reveals Capping Option, Alignment Details
Will Pioneer ACOs Come to the Rescue, or is the Government Rearranging Deck Chairs on the Titanic?
CMS Unveils New ACO Model For Advanced Organizations, to Start in Summer

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars