Walnut Hill Medical Center achieves HIMSS Stage 6 recognition: 4 things to know

HIMSS Analytics has recognized Walnut Hill Medical Center in Dallas for achieving Stage 6 of its EMR Adoption Model.

Here are four things to know.

1. Walnut Hill Medical Center first opened in April 2014. Now, the hospital has joined the 1,440 hospitals that have achieved Stage 6.

2. The EMR Adoption Model Stage 6 requires hospitals to demonstrate electronic physician documentation, clinical decision support, computerized provider order entry and closed-loop medication administration, amongst several other criteria.

3. "I am very proud of our team and the physicians as they came together to use the technology to further enable patient care delivery," said Cory Countryman, CEO of Walnut Hill Medical Center. "Since the day we opened our doors to the community in April 2014, the Walnut Hill Medical Center team has continuously provided exceptional patient care while leveraging the technology tools toward making that happen."

4. Stage 6 is the second to last stage in the HIMSS Analytics model, which includes Stages 0 to 7.

More articles on health IT:
Where healthcare technology is headed in 2016: Five trends
Cerner recognized by Missouri Chamber of Commerce
The future of health IT & primary care: 4 findings from PwC

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers