GAO appoints 7 members to health IT committee

The U.S. Government Accountability Office has appointed seven new members to its Health Information Technology Advisory Committee. 

The 21st Century Cures Act, enacted in December 2016, established the committee and gave the Comptroller General responsibility for appointing at least 14 of the members, according to a Dec. 19 press release from the GAO. 

The new appointees are:

  • Kikelomo Belizaire, MD: Dr. Belizaire is the CMO of software company Pegasystems.

  • Shila Blend, PhD.: Dr. Blend is the health information technology director of the North Dakota Health Information Network, North Dakota's statewide health information exchange.

  • Hannah Galvin, MD: Dr. Galvin is the chief medical information officer of Cambridge (Mass.) Health Alliance, an academic public safety net health system.

  • Bryant Thomas Karras, MD: Dr. Karras is chief medical informatics officer and senior epidemiologist of the Washington State Department of Health.

  • Anna McCollister: Ms. McCollister is a patient advocate, entrepreneur and advisor on various health technology, data use, and healthcare quality initiatives.

  • Deven McGraw, J.D.: Mr. McGraw is the lead for data stewardship and data sharing at Invitae Corporation, a medical genetics company.

  • Naresh Sundar Rajan, Ph.D.: Dr. Rajan is the chief data officer at CyncHealth, Nebraska's statewide health information exchange.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars