CMS Designs "Test EHRs" Process For MU Stage 2

CMS and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology have established a process for electronic health record vendors to have their EHRs be designated as "test EHRs" for measure #3 of the transition of care objective under meaningful use stage 2.


Measure #3 of the transition of care objective under stage 2 of meaningful use requires eligible professionals and eligible hospitals to either:


•    Conduct one or more successful electronic exchanges of a summary of care document with a recipient who has an EHR designed by a different EHR developer than that of its own.



•    Conduct one or more successful tests with the CMS-designated "test EHR" during the EHR reporting period.


CMS and the ONC have worked together to identify a minimum set of technical capabilities that need to be in place for an EHR to be designated a "test EHR." Eligible professionals and hospitals that want to pursue the second method for meeting measure #3 of the transition of care objective can do so using these CMS-designated "test EHRs."

CMS and the ONC call on the EHR developer and vendor community to participate in the program to become CMS-designated "test EHRs."


More Articles on CMS:


CMS: Hospital Readmissions Down to 17.8%
CMS Touts Lower Healthcare Spending, Readmissions Under PPACA
CMS Releases FAQs on Medicaid RACs

Copyright © 2022 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars