7 states update data breach notification laws in 2015

Data breaches have made regular appearances in the headlines this year, sparking several states to update their breach notification laws, according to a JD Supra report.

States that have passed updated legislation focused on breach notification this year include:

•    Connecticut
•    Montana
•    Nevada
•    North Dakota
•    Oregon
•    Rhode Island
•    Washington
•    Wyoming

California is also likely to pass updated legislation. California Senate Bill 570 focuses on the readability of breach notices, according to the report. The legislation would require notification to include information under several headings including what happened, what information was involved, what the organization is doing and what the affected party can do.

Illinois SB 1833 is also pending in Illinois. This bill would expand the definition of breach notice and require breach notification to the State Attorney General's office within 30 days of identifying the scope of the breach, according to the report.

More articles on health IT:
50 leaders in health IT
Health IT tip of the day: Don't lose sight of the long term
5 key thoughts on the future of the cloud

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2021. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.