13 States That Have Passed State Health Insurance Exchange Legislation So Far

Through Aug. 2011, 13 states have established health insurance exchange legislation, which is required under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, according to a National Conference of State Legislatures report.

These are the following states that have enacted exchange establishment in 2010 or 2011:

•    California
•    Colorado
•    Connecticut
•    Hawaii
•    Illinois
•    Maryland
•    Nevada
•    North Dakota
•    Oregon
•    Vermont
•    Virginia
•    Washington
•    West Virginia

According to the report, Massachusetts and Utah passed laws prior to the enactment of PPACA. California was also the only state to pass legislation in 2010.

Related Articles on Health Insurance Exchanges:

North Dakota Holds Forum Regarding Its Health Insurance Exchange
Federal Government May Take Over Florida Insurance Exchange
State Health Insurance Exchanges to Impact Children's Coverage

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars