How many hospitals are on each stage of HIMSS Analytics' EMR Adoption Model?

Most hospitals sit on the second-highest level of the EMR Adoption Model, an eight-stage roadmap developed by Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society subsidiary HIMSS Analytics.

The EMR Adoption Model, which runs from Stage 0 to Stage 7, measures the degree to which a hospital utilizes its EMR functions. Hospitals are scored on standards related to digital imaging, interoperability and data security, among other capabilities.

Here's how all 5,487 registered U.S. hospitals stacked up in the fourth quarter of 2017.

Stage 0: 1.4 percent

Stage 1: 1.5 percent

Stage 2: 1.8 percent

Stage 3: 12 percent

Stage 4: 10.2 percent

Stage 5: 32.9 percent

Stage 6: 33.8 percent

Stage 7: 6.4 percent

To access a breakdown of requirements for each stage, click here.

More articles on EHRs & interoperability:
Top 5 reasons patients decline access to EHRs, according to ONC's study
National Academy of Medicine releases ONC-funded report on improving clinical decision support
Black Book: Duplicate patient records cost hospitals almost $2k per inpatient stay

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2021. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars