Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact goes live in 29 states

The Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact was implemented in 29 member states Jan. 19  after governors of Colorado and New Mexico signed their legislation enacting the agreement the evening before.

The eNLC allows for registered nurses and licensed practical or vocational nurses to hold one multistate license and be able to practice in person or via telehealth in their home state or other eNLC states.

Since licensing standards are aligned with eNLC states, nurses applying for a multistate license must meet the same standards, including a federal and state criminal background check.

"This opens a new and exciting era for nursing licensure," said Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators Chairwoman Sue Tedford, RN. "The eNLC not only benefits nurses with increased mobility to practice, it also increases access to care for patients."

More articles on telehealth:

Florida Hospital New Smyrna implements tele-ICU services

How one Illinois clinic provides abortions via telemedicine

Remote patient monitoring may not improve these 6 clinical outcomes, study suggests

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Content

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers