Where are the 20 Leapfrog 'F' hospitals?

  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large

While 782 hospitals earned an A grade in patient safety this spring from The Leapfrog Group, many did not perform as well at keeping patients safe and infection-free: 20 hospitals in 10 states and Washington, D.C., received a failing grade.

California and Texas had the most F-graded hospitals with four each, while New York had three failing hospitals. The 20 hospitals are listed, alphabetically by state, below.


  • Antelope Valley Hospital (Lancaster)
  • Western Medical Center of Santa Ana
  • Madera Community Hospital
  • Oroville Hospital

District of Columbia

  • Providence Hospital of Washington


  • Meadows Regional Medical Center (Vidalia)
  • Union General Hospital (Blairsville)


  • Pratt Regional Medical Center


  • Teche Regional Medical Center (Morgan City)


  • St. Alexius Hospital-Broadway Campus (St. Louis)

New York

  • Aurelia Osborn Fox Memorial Hospital (Oneonta)
  • Brookdale Hospital Medical Center (Brooklyn)
  • Cortland Regional Medical Center


  • Van Wert County Hospital (Van Wert)


  • Grady Memorial Hospital (Chickasha)

South Carolina

  • KershawHealth Medical Center (Camden)


  • Christus Spohn Hospital Corpus Christi-Shoreline (Corpus Christi)
  • Memorial Medical Center-Livingston
  • Oakbend Medical Center (Richmond)
  • University General Hospital (Houston)

Find more information on the spring 2015 patient safety scores here.

Copyright © 2021 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars