Joint Commission, NQF announce winners of Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award

The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum have recognized achievements in patient safety and care quality on an individual, national and local level with the announcement of the 2015 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award recipients.

The awards are part of a patient safety program that was launched in 2002 by The Joint Commission and NQF. The most recent honorees received the awards Thursday at NQF's Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.

Here are the three John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award winners:

1. The award for individual achievement went to Pascale Carayon, PhD, the Procter & Gamble Bascom Professor in Total Quality in the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering. Dr. Carayon used human factors engineering and the Systems Engineering Initiative for Patient Safety model to advance the field of patient safety and quality.

2. Charlotte, N.C.-based Premier was recognized for innovation at the national level in patient safety and quality. Premier was chosen for its quality improvement initiative — called QUEST, which stands for quality, efficiency, safety and transparency — which allowed roughly 350 volunteer health systems to transparently share data and define a common framework with consistent measures of top performance.

3. The award for innovation at the local level went to Mayo Clinic Hospital in Rochester, Minn., for its hospitalwide effort to reduce catheter-associated urinary tract infections. By approaching the effort as a team, engaging frontline staff, identifying a bundle of interventions and developing a toolkit and an innovative method of diffusion, the hospital reduced CAUTIs by 70 percent.

To learn more about the award and each winner, click here.



More artilces on patient safety:
Report recommends national medical device evaluation network for better safety
Healthgrades names 2016 patient safety, experience award recipients: 8 things to know
AANA celebrates NPSF's united for patient safety campaign

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars