Illinois, Michigan and Wisconsin hospitals team up for quality improvement

The Illinois Health and Hospital Association, the Michigan Health & Hospital Association and the Wisconsin Hospital Association are forming the Great Lakes Partners for Patients, a joint quality improvement program as part of CMS' Hospital Improvement Innovation Network contract.

More than 330 hospitals and health systems across the three states are set to participate in the collaboration, which will focus on the following 11 types of inpatient harm:

  • Adverse drug events
  • Central line-associated bloodstream infections
  • Clostridium difficile infections, including antibiotic stewardship
  • Injury from falls and immobility
  • Pressure ulcers
  • Sepsis and septic shock
  • Surgical site infections
  • Venous thromboembolism
  • Ventilator-associated events
  • Readmissions

"WHA has partnered with Michigan and Illinois on improvement work in the past, so this work is a natural extension of existing relationships," said Kelly Court, WHA's chief quality officer. "We look forward to continuing our work on these important aspects of hospital care."

Sign up for our FREE E-Weekly for more coverage like this sent to your inbox!

Participating hospitals will share best practices and resources to meet the goal of a 20 percent decrease in overall patient harm and a 12 percent reduction in readmissions from the 2014 baseline.

More articles on hospital quality:
Elder abuse flies under the radar in emergency departments
5 misdiagnosis prevention strategies for physicians
Star ratings – Why we shouldn’t treat hospitals like they’re on Yelp

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2021. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars