CDC adds 6 Prevention Epicenters to focus on germ spread in healthcare facilities

New funding from the CDC has added six new CDC Prevention Epicenters, taking the total number of institutions working to discover new ways to protect patients from dangerous infectious diseases from five to 11.

"It can be difficult and challenging to prevent the spread of dangerous diseases in healthcare facilities," said Tom Frieden, MD, the director of the CDC. "To protect Americans, it's critical that we develop the cutting edge science needed to stay ahead of the germs. The six institutions receiving these funds are doing just that."

The six new Epicenters will focus on preventing the spread of infectious viruses and bacteria in healthcare facilities, evaluate the best ways to use personal protective equipment and study new approaches to minimize the role of healthcare environment in germ transmission.

The CDC awarded a total of $11 million to the following institutions:

  1. Emory University (Atlanta)
  2. The Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore)
  3. University of Illinois, Chicago
  4. University of Iowa (Iowa City)
  5. University of Maryland, Baltimore
  6. University of Utah (Salt Lake City)

The existing Prevention Epicenters are:

  1. Cook County Health & Hospitals System and Rush University Medical Center (Chicago)
  2. Duke University (Durham, N.C.)
  3. Harvard Pilgrim Health Care and University of California, Irvine
  4. University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia)
  5. Washington University (St. Louis)

The CDC's Prevention Epicenters Program started in 1997. Find more information on the program here.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars