AACN Presents Beacon Award for Excellence in 2013 Patient Safety Awards

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses has awarded the Beacon Award for Excellence to 122 units in 101 hospitals that have used evidence-based practices to improve patient and family outcomes between Jan. 1, 2013, and Dec. 31, 2013.

The award is presented to units which meet standards for other national awards (Magnet Recognition, Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, National Quality Healthcare Award and AACN's Health Work Environment Standards) for five categories, including:

Sign up for our FREE E-Weekly for more coverage like this sent to your inbox!

  • Leadership structures and systems
  • Appropriate staffing and staff engagement
  • Effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development and best practices
  • Evidence-based practices and processes
  • Outcome measurement

The award is stratified into bronze, silver and gold categories. Thirty-four units earned "gold" distinctions, according to a news release. To view the list of recipients by state, click here.

More Articles on Quality:

IU Health Links Deaths to Possible Pathogens in Water Supply

The Road to Eliminating HAIs: Hand Hygiene Improvement at Cedars-Sinai

Building Antimicrobial Resistance Into the Fabric of Hospitals, Literally

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars