Healthcare Providers to Begin Version 5010 Standards Testing in January

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services has issued a reminder that all entities covered under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act should be ready to test with their trading partners the functionality of the entities' practice management and/or other related software featuring Version 5010 standards.

Use of the Version 5010 standards for HIPAA electronic health care transactions, including claims, remittance advice, eligibility inquiries, referral authorization and other administrative transactions, will be mandatory on Jan. 1, 2012. The Version 5010 standards also provide the framework needed for use of the revised medical data code sets (ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS), that must be implemented on Oct. 1, 2013.

The greatly expanded ICD-10 code sets will support quality reporting, pay-for-performance, bio-surveillance and other critical activities, and provide a rich terminology for use of electronic health records. The ICD-10 code sets will also link to the standards and certification criteria for demonstrating "meaningful use" of certified EHR technology under the Medicare and Medicaid EHR incentive program.

Read the CMS reminder on Version 5010 testing.

Read more coverage on Version 5010:

- Version 5010 Beta Testing Underway By CMS

- ICD-10 Implementation for ASCs: What You Must Do Now

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers