4 things to know about ICD-11

The World Health Organization is preparing ICD-11 coding guidelines for official release in June.

Here are four things to know about ICD-11.

1. WHO initiated the beta phase for ICD-11 in 2012. The beta draft is available online, not final and updated routinely.

2. The latest draft version contains about 30 main categories. New categories include conditions related to sexual health, traditional medicine conditions and diseases of the immune system. The traditional medicine chapter involves "disorders and patterns which originated in ancient Chinese medicine and are commonly used in China, Japan, Korea, and elsewhere around the world."

3. The latest proposal for ICD-11 also includes "gaming disorder" under the subcategory of "disorders due to addictive behaviors." The ICD-11 draft describes a digital gaming disorder as "a pattern of persistent or recurrent gaming behavior … [perpetuated] despite the occurrence of negative consequences."

4. ICD-11 is designed to be compatible with electronic health applications and information systems, and is available in a wide range of languages, including English, Russian, Arabic and Spanish.


More articles on healthcare finance:

Partners HealthCare sees net income soar 51% in Q1
Why a Seattle TV station bought $1M worth of medical debt
JPMorgan CEO on new venture with Amazon, Berkshire: 'We know we can do more' to fix healthcare

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers