Dr. Ernest Grant 1st man elected to lead the American Nurses Association

The American Nurses Association named Ernest Grant, PhD, RN, to serve as its next president. Dr. Grant, whose term will begin Jan. 1, 2019, is the first man to ever be elected ANA president.

Dr. Grant currently serves as ANA vice president. He is head of the North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center at UNC Hospitals in Chapel Hill. He also serves as adjunct faculty for the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Nursing.

Dr. Grant is the past president of the North Carolina Nurses Association. A burn treatment expert, he received a Nurse of the Year Award from President George W. Bush in 2002 for his work with victims of the Sept. 11 terrorist attack in New York City.

Additionally, the ANA elected four new members for its nine-person board of directors:

• Secretary: Stephanie Pierce, PhD, RN
• Director-at-Large: Tonisha Melvin, DNP
• Director-at-Large: Varsha Singh, MSN
• Director-at-Large Staff: Nurse Jennifer Gil, BSN, RN

More articles on healthcare quality: 
Why one Iowa hospital uses essential oils in its ER
Baby's dying heart brought back to life with mitochondrial transplants
Half of patients say medical treatments 'create as many problems as they solve'

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


IC Database-3

Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months