Nevada 1st state to issue insurance surcharge for unvaccinated public employees

Nevada will charge insured public employees upwards of $55 a month if they are unvaccinated against COVID-19, making it the first state to enact such a penalty.

Advertisement

The state’s Public Employees’ Benefit Program Board approved the rule Dec. 2, which goes into effect for state employees and their dependents in July 2022, according to documentation released by the board on Dec. 2.

Nevada officials estimate that COVID-19 claims from state employees will total to $8 million in 2021. 

The move is similar to policies from health systems like Louisiana’s Ochsner Health, which announced in October a bi-weekly charge upwards of $100 for employees whose insured partners are unvaccinated. The Ochsner surcharge goes into effect in 2022.

Becker’s 3rd Annual Fall Chief Pharmacy Officer Summit is the top tier event that the people leading the future of pharmacy convene. This 3-day event is built specifically for Chief Pharmacy Officers and senior pharmacy leaders. The sessions examine the workforce, financial and clinical priorities shaping pharmacy today. Becker’s is where candid discussions flourish and new ideas thrive. Becker's 3rd Annual Fall Chief Pharmacy Officer Summit

Advertisement

Next Up in Legal & Regulatory Issues

Advertisement

Comments are closed.