NIH allots $2.5M to 6 Genomic Innovator Award winners

The National Institutes of Health's National Human Genome Research Institute announced the six winners of its inaugural Genomic Innovator Awards, which provide financial backing to early-career genomics researchers.

The NHGRI's support for the six recipients will total approximately $500,000 each year over the course of a five-year project period, as part of the NIH's continued efforts to advance scientific innovation through flexible research funding.

The six winners are:

  • Channabasavaiah Gurumurthy, PhD, University of Nebraska Medical Center (Omaha)
  • Eric Gamazon, PhD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center (Nashville, Tenn.)
  • Jason Vassy, MD, Harvard Medical School (Boston)
  • Luca Pinello, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital (Boston)
  • Stacy Gray, MD, City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center (Duarte, Calif.)
  • Timothy O'Connor, PhD, University of Maryland, Baltimore

View detailed descriptions of each award recipient's research here.

More articles on innovation:
Physician viewpoint: Usability far outweighs 'cool factor' in digital health
Lafayette General launches 2nd healthcare innovation fund
'Collaboration is the fuel for innovation,' according to Dr. Sylvia Romm, Atlantic Health's 1st innovation chief

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months