Sponsored by VMG Health | info@vmghealth.com | 214.369.4888

2 Mayo Clinic Hospitals to Combine Under One Name

In an effort to better integrate the system, Mayo Clinic announced its two main Rochester, Minn.-based hospitals, Saint Marys Hospital and Methodist Hospital, will become a single licensed hospital and operate under the name Mayo Clinic Hospital — Rochester.

The change in name and operating status will go into effect Jan. 1, 2014, though all operations will remain the same.

Mayo executives said the move will give a more complete and accurate picture of Mayo's care. The change also means Saint Marys Hospital will no longer be designated as a Catholic healthcare institution, but the switch to non-Catholic status was approved by the Sisters of Saint Francis.

Mayo, Saint Marys and Methodist agreed to a common governance and management structure in 1986. Saint Marys has 1,265 beds, while Methodist has 794 beds.

More Articles on Hospital Affiliations:

10 Necessary Points for a Due Diligence Checklist
Dr. Toby Cosgrove: Cleveland Clinic Found its Only For-Profit Partner in CHS
Glendive Medical Center in Montana Details Proposed Billings Clinic Affiliation

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars