Trump to award Presidential Medal of Freedom to Israeli physician

President Donald Trump named seven individuals as recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian honor, Nov. 10, according to The Washington Post.

Here are four things to know:

1. The awardees are retiring Sen. Orrin Hatch, R-Utah, Babe Ruth, pro-footballer Roger Staubach, Elvis Presley, the late Supreme Court justice Antonin Scalia, former Minnesota Supreme Court justice Alan Page, and Miriam Adelson, MD, co-founder of The Dr. Miriam & Sheldon G. Adelson Clinic for Drug Abuse Treatment and Research.

2. In the White House's Nov. 10 announcement, officials cited Dr. Adelson's internal and emergency medicine background and specialized research in narcotic addiction, and her founding of two research centers committed to fighting substance misuse.

3. According to her Bloomberg executive biography, Dr. Adelson was born in Israel and earned her medical degree from the Sackler Medical School at Tel Aviv University. She developed a specialty in internal medicine and a subspecialty in chemical dependency while conducting research in the New York City-based Rockefeller University Laboratory for the Biology of Addictive Diseases.

4. The awards, which were established roughly 50 years ago by President John F. Kennedy, while be doled out Nov. 16. Past awardees include more than 500 celebrities, musicians, politicians and philanthropists.

To access the full report, click here.

More articles on physician integration issues:
After announcing free tuition, NYU reveals plan to build new med school
#ThisIsOurLane goes viral after NRA tells physicians to 'stay in their lane'
Volunteer nurses, physicians take care of patients displaced by California wildfire

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers