Penn Foster offers ICD-10 certificate program: 6 things to know


Penn Foster, a U.S. for-profit, regionally and nationally-accredited online career school, will offer a new International Classification of Diseases certification program, ICD-10 Training for ICD-9 Coders.

Here are six things to know about the program.

1. The program is designed to prepare medical coders already trained in ICD-9 to acquire the ICD-10 training and knowledge they need to take an ICD-10 certification exam.

2. It was designed as a comprehensive program teaching coding using ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, CPT, HCPCS Level I, and HCPCS Level II practices.

3. Structured with "basic," "intermediate" and "advanced" modules, the program consists of 18 lessons, including a "virtual work experience" component.

4. Students will be allowed up to a year to complete the program, after which they will be eligible to sit for the American Academy of Professional Coders Certified Professional Coder (or NHA or AHIMA) exam to become a certified coding professional.

5. The program is designed as follow-on to Penn Foster's Medical Billing and Coding Program, and available to students in the U.S. beginning May 10.

6. More information on Penn Foster's ICD-10 Training for ICD-9 Coders is available here.

More articles on finance and revenue cycle management:

New campaign in Kansas targets Medicaid expansion
GAO: More work needed to curb Medicare Advantage overbilling
Opponents come out against proposal to charge Ohio Medicaid enrollees

Copyright © 2021 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars