Letter: 8 advisers from Trump cybersecurity council resign

Eight members of President Donald Trump's National Infrastructure Advisory Council have reportedly stepped down en masse, citing the Trump administration's lack of "moral infrastructure," according to a group resignation letter first reported by Nextgov.

The resigning members noted President Trump's failure to single out white supremacists following the violent Charlottesville, Va., protests earlier this month as well as his decision to withdraw from the Paris Agreement on climate change. They added that President Trump has given insufficient attention to the growing threats to cybersecurity, specifically noting the nation's electoral system.

"The moral infrastructure of our nation is the foundation on which our physical infrastructure is built. The administration's actions undermine that foundation," they wrote. Addressing President Trump directly, they wrote, "Your actions have threatened the security of the homeland I took an oath to protect."

Some of the resigning council members include three former, Obama-era White House officials: Chief Data Scientist DJ Patil, Office of Science and Technology Policy Chief of Staff Cristin Dorgelo and White House Council on Environmental Quality Managing Director Christy Goldfuss, according to Twitter posts and reported by Nextgov.

The eight members were removed from the Department of Homeland Security webpage last week, which now lists the 20 remaining members.

More articles on cybersecurity: 

Chinese national arrested in US for alleged connection to Sakula malware distribution

How 18 industries rank on cybersecurity

Government entities see insider threat as No. 1 cybersecurity concern

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars